Mashed Potato Pizza

Soon after AJ bought me the coveted pink Kitchenaid mixer (thanks, honey!) we started receiving “free” “gift issues” of Food and Wine magazine. I never paid them much attention, as I was convinced they were printed spam and more interested in our actually purchased Food Network Magazine. For whatever reason, I flipped through the latest issue and this picture caught my eye.

Sweet Potato, Balsamic Onion, Mozzarella and Soppressata Pizza from Food & Wine Magazine

Something new! And crazy enough that it just might work! I saved the recipe and convinced AJ it would be a good idea. We were having some friends over for dinner later that week, and I decided to test the recipe on them. (Thanks, guys!) I won’t go over the whole recipe in detail, but basically you assemble these parts and bake:

– pizza crust
– mashed sweet potatoes
– shredded mozzarella
– balsamic vinegar caramelized onions
– thinly sliced soppressotta

My version looked nothing like the picture at any stage. I used gluten free crust mix which changes the game a bit, and the magazine clearly cheated by using brightly colored yams instead of greyish yellow sweet potatoes, but no matter. We forged ahead.

The fully assembled pizza (pre-oven) looks like absolute garbage, but it ends up quite tasty. AJ ate two pieces (minus onions) and neither Jami nor Pam spit theirs out, so I’m considering it a win. I’ve eaten leftovers for breakfast the past two days and it holds up pretty well.

Is it a showstopper? No.
Should you try it anyway? Absolutely.

RECIPE NOTES:

  • Make your crust on the thin side. This has hearty toppings, so don’t serve your guests a brick instead of a slice like I did.
  • I used Parma soppressatta. Always the right choice. Get them to slice it really thin, and then you can chop it up.
  • Fresh mozzarella. Need I say more?
  • THIN and SMALL pieces of onions. Mine looked like earthworms.
  • Make the mashed potatoes as you would normally – with a bit of butter and honey. AJ wants to try this with yams, but I think this version was plenty sweet enough.
One response

  1. There was a hippie pizza shop in the town where Mrs. Crappy and I went to school that operated a buggy Uptown for lunch and dinner. They had excellent French bread pizzas for a post-bar snack, but for lunch, I had to have a slice of their twice-baked potato pizza: mashed taters, onion, cheddar and bacon in a deep-dish crust. Only drawback: you occasionally missed an afternoon class because you needed a nap after.

Leave a Reply

