Size Matters

AJ’s mom bought us three Alton Brown cookbooks for Christmas. She knows us well – we have a mild obsession. Not in a creepy way, although I just found out he lives in the same city as my brother and sister-in-law, so … draw your own conclusions. (LET’S HANG OUT!!) Basically, he shares damn good recipes and his show is damn interesting. The books are big, and I remarked we probably would read them like novels.

I was right.

These babies are always off the shelf, because we thumb through at least one of them every day. I found a Morning After Bread recipe that a) made me giggle and b) included coffee and beer. I hadn’t finished my coffee yet for the morning, our fridge was stocked and I had all day to wait for the dough to rise, so it seemed perfect.

And ooh man did it look good!

Nice color, firm crust, beautiful vent marks. I was feeling proud. Bread! From scratch!

That is, until you looked at it from another angle.

Yeah, I don’t think that’s right. I ended up pulling those big lumpy bits in half and sticking the whole shebang back in the oven a while longer. Despite its visual challenges, the taste was amazing and the crusty crust was just right.

I’d definitely make this again, and if I had to guess, my mistake was not letting the dough rise in a warm enough spot. When it hit the oven, it was all POOF LET’S DO THIS, when it should have been like MAN I’M A WELL-FORMED LOAF OF BREAD.

Anyway, you should definitely go find this recipe (I don’t want to steal it and post it here), and if you buy the book, you seriously won’t be disappointed.

Especially because I stuffed the emptied heel of the bread with BBQ pulled pork, but that’s a story for another day.

2 responses

  1. Even ugly homemade bread is delicious homemade bread! I’d say about 5% of my homemade bread attempts are photo-worthy, but they are almost universally tasty.

    If I had to hazard a guess, I would try making sure that the seam-side of the loaf is facing down when you do the final rise and put it in the oven. That might help keep it from exploding out the side when the hot yeast orgy is underway. [This comment is totally getting blocked by the spam filter.]

Leave a Reply

