“Super Awesome Muffins”

So Sunday came around again, and with AJ working in the home office and my own work raising my anxiety levels, I needed something to keep me busy. In this scenario I often turn to baking, and this week was no different.

I had some bananas that were crying for attention, and while I would normally go straight to banana bread, I thought that muffins would be easier to share. I randomly googled for a recipe from which to start, and found this.

They. Were. Awesome. Admittedly my last two muffin attempts were kinda lame (and DRY) so I was extra pumped that these were so successful. Go forth and muffin, my friends. You won’t be disappointed.

*RECIPE NOTES*

  • I never use cupcake paper wrapper thingees. They annoy me when I am hungry. Pam spray is my friend.
  • I’m happy I used regular sized muffin tins. I usually send AJ to work with a billion mini muffins for the ultimate shareability, but these deserved to be big and fluffy.
  • To that end, I overfilled the tins a bit – just under the lip of each cup – and that was an excellent choice, if I do say so. They ended up beautifully with a nice round top.
  • Definitely make sure you beat the egg separately before you add it to the wet ingredients. I think it makes a big difference.
  • I added walnuts (crunch!), chocolate chips (yum!) and pumpkin pie spice (secret awesomeness!), and would absolutely not consider making these any other way.

I hope you enjoy!

One response

  1. I am one of the co-workers who experienced these muffins. They were divine. I loved the appearance of these muffins. They looked golden, artistic, plump and yummy. The banana in muffin looked like little artistic pieces of abstract filigree. (Bite size really is the way to go. I loved these BIG muffins though, the big one must be 4 of the mini ones… I walk past AJ’s desk and mourn for another muffin, with the little ones I don’t feel so bad. There is one solitary patriot left on his desk, next to Fat Head’s Bobble Head, now calling my name…. I will show restraint and adore it from afar :~) When you opened your mouth to take a big bite, their banana aroma smacked you in the face. OoooooOOOooh !!!! The texture was nice, the muffin base was moist and the yummy chocolate and walnuts were extra spoiling and fun. I liked how the muffin tastes lingered in my mouth after I finished it. Thanks for the muffin !!!

Leave a Reply

